Faculty

Program in African Languages | Council Members | Council Affiliates

Program in African Languages Faculty

Oluseye Adesola
Senior Lector II, Yoruba
Email: oluseye.adesola@yale.edu
Bio: PAL Faculty
Office Phone: 203-432-1166
Office: RKZ Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, Suite 142

Sandra Sanneh
Senior Lector II, Zulu
Email: sandra.sanneh@yale.edu
Bio: PAL Faculty
Office Phone: 203-432-1179
Office: RKZ Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, Suite 140

Kiarie Wa’Njogu
Senior Lector II, Swahili
Email: john.wanjogu@yale.edu
Bio: PAL Faculty
Office Phone: 203-432-0110

Office: Luce Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, Suite 309

Veronica Waweru
Lecturer: Swahili and African Studies
Email: veronica.waweru@yale.edu
Bio: PAL Faculty
Office: RKZ 148 34 Hillhouse Avenue

Council Faculty 

Michael Cappello
Chair, Council on African Studies and Co-Director, Yale Africa Initiative
Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Disease), of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases) and of Microbial Pathogenesis
Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/pediatrics/people/michael_cappello.profile
Email: michael.cappello@yale.edu

Serap Aksoy
Professor of Epidemiology (School of Public Health)
Email: serap.aksoy@yale.edu
Bio: http://publichealth.yale.edu/people/serap_aksoy-2.profile

Katharine Baldwin
Assistant Professor, Political Science
Email: katharine.baldwin@yale.edu
Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/kate-baldwin

Roberta (Lea) Brilmayer
Professor, Law School
Email: lea.brilmayer@yale.edu

Bio: https://law.yale.edu/lea-brilmayer

Ted Cohen
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Email: theodore.cohen@yale.edu
Bio: http://medicine.yale.edu/intranet/facultybydept/theodore_cohen.profile

John Darnell
Professor, Egyptology
Email: john.darnell@yale.edu

Bio: http://nelc.yale.edu/people/john-coleman-darnell  

Owen Fiss
Professor, Law School
Email: owen.fiss@yale.edu
Bio: www.law.yale.edu/faculty/OFiss.htm

Robert Harms
Professor, History
Email: robert.harms@yale.edu

Bio: http://history.yale.edu/people/robert-harms

Kaveh Khoshnood
Associate Professor, Yale School of Public Health

Email: kaveh.khoshnood@yale.edu

Bio: http://publichealth.yale.edu/people/kaveh_khoshnood.profile

William Casey King
Director, YSPH Center for Analytical Sciences
CAS Projects Leadership Trainer
Email: casey.king@yale.edu
Bio: http://ghi.yale.edu/faculty/detail/casey_king

Ann Kurth
Dean, School of Nursing and Linda Koch Lorimer Professor of Nursing
Email: ann.kurth@yale.edu

Bio: http://nursing.yale.edu/faculty-research/faculty-directory/ann-kurth-phd-cnm-mph-faan

Louisa Lombard
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Email: louisa.lombard@yale.edu
Bio: http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/louisa-lombard

Urania Magriples
Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
Email: urania.magriples@yale.edu

Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/obgyn/people/urania_magriples.profile

Daniel Magaziner
Assistant Professor, History
Email: daniel.magaziner@yale.edu

Bio: http://history.yale.edu/people/daniel-magaziner

Roderick McIntosh
Professor, Anthropology Curator, Peabody Museum
Email: roderick.mcintosh@yale.edu

Bio: http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/roderick-mcintosh

Christopher Miller
Professor, French
Email: christopher.miller@yale.edu

Bio: http://afamstudies.yale.edu/people/christopher-miller

Hani Mowafi
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Email: hani.mowafi@yale.edu

Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/emergencymed/people/hani_mowafi.profile

Stephanie Newell
Professor, English
Email: stephanie.newall@yale.edu
Bio: http://english.yale.edu/people/tenured-and-tenure-track-faculty-professors/stephanie-newell

Matuku Ngame
Senior Lector, French
Email: matuku.ngame@yale.edu
Bio: http://french.yale.edu/people/matuku-ngame

Doruk Ozgediz
Assistant Professor of Surgery (Pediatrics) and of Pediatrics
Email: doruk.ozgediz@yale.edu
Bio: http://surgery.yale.edu/people/doruk_ozgediz.profile

Elijah Paintsil
Associate Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Disease), of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases), and of Pharmacology
Email: elijah.paintsil@yale.edu
Bio: http://pediatrics.yale.edu/infectiousdiseases/people/elijah_paintsil.profile

Catherine Panter-Brick
Professor, Anthropology
Email: catherine.panter-brick@yale.edu

Bio:http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/catherine-panter-brick

Sunil Parikh
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology and of Medicine, School of Public Health
email: sunil.parikh@yale.edu
bio: http://publichealth.yale.edu/people/sunil_parikh-1.profile

Tracy Rabin
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Assistant Director, Office of Global Health
Email: tracy.rabin@yale.edu
Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/intmed/people/tracy_rabin.profile

Asghar Rastegar
Professor of Medicine and Director, Office of Global Health
Email: asghar.rastegar@yale.edu
Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/intmed/people/asghar_rastegar.profile

Sarah Ryan
Lecturer and Empirical Research Librarian, Law School
Email: sarah.ryan@yale.edu
 

Lamin Sanneh
Professor, Divinity and History
Email: lamin.sanneh@yale.edu

Bio: http://history.yale.edu/people/lamin-sanneh

Jeremy Schwartz
Assistant Professor of Medicine (General Medicine); Faculty, Global Health Leadership Institute
Email: jeremy.schwartz@yale.edu
Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/intmed/people/jeremy_schwartz.profile

Ian Shapiro
Professor, Political Science; Director, The MacMillan Center
Email: ian.shapiro@yale.edu

Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/ian-shapiro

Sheela Shenoi
Assistant Professor of Medicine (AIDS)
Email: sheela.shenoi@yale.edu
Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/intmed/people/sheela_shenoi.profile

David Simon
Lecturer, Political Science
Email: david.simon@yale.edu
Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/david-simon

Robert Farris Thompson
Professor, History of Art and African-American Studies Master, Timothy Dwight
Email: robert.thompson@yale.edu
Bio: http://arthistory.yale.edu/people/robert-thompson

Michael Veal
Professor, Music
Email: michael.veal@yale.edu

Bio: http://yalemusic.yale.edu/people/michael-veal

David Watts
Professor, Anthropology
Email: david.watts@yale.edu

Bio: http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/david-watts

Brian Wood
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Email: brian.wood@yale.edu

Bio: http://world.yale.edu/faculty/brian_wood

Elisabeth Wood
Professor, Political Science
Email: elisabeth.wood@yale.edu

Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/elisabeth-wood

Jonathan Wyrtzen
Assistant Professor, Sociology and International Affairs
Email: jonathan.wyrtzen@yale.edu

Bio: http://sociology.yale.edu/people/jonathan-wyrtzen

Frank Minja
Assistant Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
Email: frank.minja@yale.edu 
Bio: http://radiology.yale.edu/people/frank_minja.profile

Christine Ngaruiya
Assistant Professor Department of Emergency Medicine
Email: christine.ngaruiya@yale.edu

Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/emergencymed/people/christine_ngaruiya.profile

Russell Barbour
Associate Research Scientist in Biostatistics
Email: Russell.barbour@yale.edu

Bio: https://publichealth.yale.edu/people/russell_barbour.profile

Adalgisa Caccone
Lecturer in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Email: adalgisa.caccone@yale.edu

Bio: http://eeb.yale.edu/people/faculty-research-scientists-lecturer/adalgisa-caccone

Oluwatosin Onibokun
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Email: oluwatosin.onibokun@yale.edu
Bio:http://yalehealth.yale.edu/directory/clinicians/oluwatosin-onibokun-md

Jill Jarvis
Assistant Professor, Department of French
Email: jill.jarvis@yale.edu

Bio: http://french.yale.edu/people/jill-jarvis
 

Council Affiliates

Teferi Abate Adem
Research Anthropologist, Human Relations Area Files
Email: teferi.abate@yale.edu
Bio: http://hraf.yale.edu/about/staff/teferi-abate-adem/

Harvey Feinberg
Professor of History, Southern Connecticut State University
Email: feinbergs@sbcglobal.net
Bio: www.southernct.edu/publications/facbib/F/feinberg.htm

Anne-Marie Foltz
Lecturer, Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: anne-marie.foltz@yale.edu

Bio: https://publichealth.yale.edu/downs/committee/277146.profile

Gerald Friedland
Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)
Email: gerald.friedland@yale.edu
Bio: https://medicine.yale.edu/intmed/people/gerald_friedland.profile

Curtis Patton

Professor Emeritus, Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: curtis.patton@yale.edu
Bio: http://medicine.yale.edu/ysph/people/curtis_patton.profile

Immanuel Wallerstein
Senior Research Scientist and Professor Emeritus, Sociology
Email: immanuel.wallerstein@yale.edu
Bio:http://sociology.yale.edu/people/immanuel-wallerstein

Charles Riley

Librarian for African Studies

Email: charles.riley@yale.edu
Office Phone: 203-432-7566
Office Location: Winchester Avenue, 344

Richard Richie

Interim Curator, Yale Libraries African Collection
Email: rich.richie@yale.edu
Office Phone: 203-432-1858
Office Location: 120 High Street